AIAIAccountingEngineer

Best AI courses for accountants in India (2026): prices, durations and formats compared

Disclosure: this comparison is published by AI Accounting Engineer, which is run by CA Varsha Varyani, who teaches one of the courses below (marked "our course"). We looked at every course the same way: price, duration, format, who it is built for and what its own page says, as read on 4 November 2026. We do not rank any course as "best".

The short answer

  • Free and no money at risk: CA Monk's AI for Finance Level 1 is listed as free: recorded, 15 hours.
  • An ICAI classroom course with CPE hours: ICAI's AICA Level 1 is 3 days in person for Chartered Accountants, Rs 5,000 plus GST, with 18 structured CPE hours.
  • Accounting workflows on Claude, recorded and self-paced: Claude for Accountants by CA Varsha Varyani (our course) is Rs 1,500 (listed Rs 5,000) for lifetime access, with a completion certificate and no refund.
  • A university-linked course: SWAYAM Plus AI for Accounting by IITM Pravartak (Rs 2,000 plus GST, built for commerce and management students, enrolment closed on 19 Sept 2026), or Coursera's AI Applications in Accounting and Finance from the University of Maryland (included with Coursera Plus).

Comparison table (read on 4 November 2026)

CourseWho runs itPrice (as listed)TimeFormatBuilt forCertificate
AICA Level 1, Certificate Course on AI for CAsICAIRs 5,000 + GST3 days (10 am to 6 pm); 18 structured CPE hoursIn person at an ICAI branch or Centre of Excellence; bring a laptop; daily online assessmentChartered AccountantsICAI certificate for AICA Level 1
AI for Finance, Level 1CA Monk (mentor CA Shivam Palan)Free15 hoursRecorded, self-paced, lifetime accessFinance professionals and beginnersCA Monk course completion certificate
Claude for Accountants by CA Varsha Varyani (our course)AI Accounting EngineerRs 1,500 (listed Rs 5,000, 70% off)Not stated; 5 recorded modulesSelf-paced and recorded; all modules unlock at once; lifetime access; in EnglishAccountants, CAs, finance MBAs and B.Com graduates in finance rolesCertificate of Completion from AIAccountingEngineer.com (not an ICAI or university credential); no refund
AI for Finance (Basic to Advanced)Thinking BridgeRs 1,999 (English or Hinglish batch)"25+ hours", "20+ structured AI sessions"Video lessons and structured sessions; access for 120 days from enrolmentCAs, CA students, finance professionals, auditors and analystsCompletion certificate and a performance-based mark sheet
AI for AccountingSWAYAM Plus with IITM PravartakRs 2,000 + 18% GST30 hours theory and 15 hours practicalOnline, in English; proctored MCQ assessmentCommerce and management students (undergraduate year 1 onwards)SWAYAM Plus and IITM Pravartak
AI Applications in Accounting and FinanceUniversity of Maryland on Coursera (Sean Cao)Included with Coursera Plus (advertised at Rs 6,999 a year in an "Ends soon" offer)"2 weeks to complete at 10 hours a week"Online, 4 modules, beginner levelAccounting and finance students and professionalsShareable certificate
Artificial Intelligence for Finance, Accounting and AuditingAI Ascent LLC (Dr Ivy Munoko) on UdemyRs 559 on a one-day Diwali sale on 4 Nov (list Rs 3,199)5.5 hours of on-demand videoOn-demand video, 73 lecturesBusiness, finance, accounting and audit professionals and studentsCertificate of completion

Prices change, especially on Udemy and Coursera: check the course page before you pay.

How to choose

  1. Do you need CPE hours or an ICAI credential? Take ICAI's AICA. Level 1 batches were listed in many cities through 4 December 2026. Level 2 is Rs 10,000 plus GST, mixes 2 online days with 3 in-person days, and is open to CAs who have completed Level 1.
  2. Do you want to try AI for finance at no cost first? Start with CA Monk's free Level 1. Its page lists ChatGPT, prompt engineering, Google Apps Script, NotebookLM and Excel automation with AI.
  3. Do you want accounting-specific workflows rather than general AI skills? Look at what each syllabus trains you to do. Ours is five Claude-based modules: journal entries from source documents, bank reconciliation and fixed asset depreciation in Excel, a monthly GST 2A/2B reconciliation skill, and month-end close with Claude agents. You need a paid Claude plan to follow it. Thinking Bridge covers audit documentation, tax notices and financial statement analysis with ChatGPT and other tools.
  4. Do you need a university or student course? SWAYAM Plus is built for commerce and management students and Coursera for accounting and finance students and professionals; the pages as read do not list Indian GST or Tally topics.
  5. Is the course date-stamped? The Udemy listing was last updated in September 2020. AI tools change every few months, so check the last-updated date of any course you buy.

Each course in more detail

1. AICA Level 1, ICAI

  • Price: Rs 5,000 plus GST. Level 2 is listed at Rs 10,000 plus GST.
  • Format and time: 3 days (10 am to 6 pm) in a classroom at an ICAI branch or Centre of Excellence; participants bring a laptop; three daily online assessments and a short group practical on day 3; 18 structured CPE hours.
  • For: Chartered Accountants. Prerequisites listed: basic computer and Office knowledge, and an understanding of finance, audit and statistics.
  • Note: seats are by batch and city, so check the batch list for a date near you.
  • Sources: ICAI AICA Level 1, Level 1 brochure (PDF), AICA Level 2

2. AI for Finance, Level 1, CA Monk

  • Price: the page shows "Enroll Now @ Free" and "completely free".
  • Time and format: 15 hours, recorded, lifetime access, with a certificate that has a verification link.
  • Topics listed: basics of AI, ChatGPT, prompt engineering, AI agents, Google Apps Script, NotebookLM, AI presentations, Excel VBA, Excel automation using AI, MS Word VBA, practical finance data and automation, and a knowledge assessment.
  • Mentor: CA Shivam Palan.
  • Source: CA Monk AI for Finance Level 1

3. Claude for Accountants by CA Varsha Varyani (our course)

  • Price: Rs 1,500 for lifetime access (listed Rs 5,000, 70% off). There is no refund.
  • Format: fully recorded and self-paced; all five modules unlock at once when you enrol; sample data and copy-ready prompts come with each module; the course is in English.
  • Modules: Claude 101 for real accounting work; automating journal entries from any source document; bank reconciliation and asset schedules with the Claude Excel add-in; a monthly GST 2A/2B reconciliation with a Claude skill; and running the month-end close with Claude agents.
  • Needs: a paid Claude plan, because many of the features used in the course are only on Claude's paid plans. The method carries over to other AI tools.
  • Certificate: Certificate of Completion from AIAccountingEngineer.com, endorsed by CA Varsha Varyani. It is a completion certificate, not an ICAI or university credential.
  • Source: Claude for Accountants

4. AI for Finance (Basic to Advanced), Thinking Bridge

  • Price: Rs 1,999, English or Hinglish batch.
  • Time and format: "25+ hours" and "20+ structured AI sessions" on the course page; video lessons plus structured sessions; online assessment; access for 120 days from enrolment.
  • Covers: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Microsoft Copilot for finance; audit documentation and planning; tax notices and tax compliance; financial statement analysis; Excel and presentations with AI.
  • Certificate: completion certificate and a performance-based mark sheet.
  • Source: Thinking Bridge AI for Finance

5. AI for Accounting, SWAYAM Plus (IITM Pravartak)

  • Price: Rs 2,000 plus 18% GST. The enrolment window of 9 to 19 September 2026 is closed, and the page shows no next window.
  • Time and format: 30 hours of theory and 15 hours of practical lab; online proctored MCQ assessment; English.
  • For: commerce and management students from undergraduate year 1 onwards. Uses Python with accounting datasets.
  • Source: SWAYAM Plus AI for Accounting

6. AI Applications in Accounting and Finance, University of Maryland (Coursera)

  • Price: included with Coursera Plus. The course page advertised Coursera Plus at Rs 6,999 a year in an "Ends soon" offer on 4 Nov 2026; no stand-alone course price was shown.
  • Time and format: 4 modules, beginner level, "2 weeks to complete at 10 hours a week"; shareable certificate.
  • Rating on the page: 4.4 from 10 reviews (a small sample).
  • Source: Coursera AI Applications in Accounting and Finance

7. Artificial Intelligence for Finance, Accounting and Auditing (Udemy)

  • Price: Rs 559 during a Diwali sale that was showing "1 day left at this price" on 4 Nov (list price Rs 3,199). The price changes with sales.
  • Time and format: 5.5 hours of on-demand video in 73 lectures; no technology background required.
  • Rating on the page: 4.5 from 6,476 ratings; 20,540 students. Last updated 9/2020.
  • Source: Udemy course page

Also checked, not in the table

  • SCDL with PwC Academy, Certificate in AI for Finance: a 3-month distance-learning programme (live and recorded lectures) with a program fee of Rs 30,000 plus a Rs 1,200 application fee, a joint completion certificate with PwC Academy and a January 2027 admission session. It is a university distance-learning certificate, a different kind of product from the courses above. SCDL page
  • Simandhar Education, CAAP Level 1 "AI-Powered Accounting Masterclass": 20 hours, 6 modules; the page says Level 1 is free for Simandhar premium-course students and shows no stand-alone price. It lists NASBA-approved CPE credits only after Level 2. Simandhar page
  • Becker, Foundations of AI for Accountants Certificate: USD 159 (listed USD 189), self-paced, 5.0 NASBA-approved CPE credits, built around the US CPA market. Becker page
  • The Knowledge Academy, Certified AI for Accountants Training: a one-day online instructor-led training with dated sessions; no price is shown, only a request for pricing. Knowledge Academy page

Frequently asked questions

Which is the cheapest AI course for accountants in India?

On 4 Nov 2026, CA Monk's AI for Finance Level 1 was listed as free. Among paid courses, the Udemy course was on a one-day Diwali sale at Rs 559 (list price Rs 3,199), Claude for Accountants by CA Varsha Varyani was Rs 1,500 (listed Rs 5,000), Thinking Bridge was Rs 1,999 and SWAYAM Plus was Rs 2,000 plus 18% GST.

Is there an ICAI AI course for chartered accountants?

Yes. ICAI runs AICA Level 1 (Rs 5,000 plus GST, 3 days in person, 18 structured CPE hours) and AICA Level 2 (Rs 10,000 plus GST, for CAs who have completed Level 1, 30 structured CPE hours).

Do I need to know coding for these courses?

Claude for Accountants, the Udemy course and CA Monk's page all say no coding is needed, although CA Monk's module list includes Google Apps Script and Excel VBA. SWAYAM Plus uses Python with accounting datasets, and Thinking Bridge's page lists Python and app development among its tools. ICAI's page does not say.

How long do these courses take?

From about 5.5 hours of video (Udemy) to 45 hours (SWAYAM Plus: 30 theory and 15 practical), or 3 full days for ICAI's classroom course. Claude for Accountants does not state a duration: it is self-paced, with five recorded modules that unlock at once.

Which of these courses covers Indian GST reconciliation?

Based only on what the public course pages say on 4 Nov 2026, Claude for Accountants has a monthly GST 2A/2B reconciliation module. The other course pages we read did not list GST reconciliation as a topic.

How often is this comparison updated?

Monthly. The date at the top of the page changes only when prices and facts have been re-checked against each course's own page.

How this page is kept accurate

We read each course's own page, record the price, duration, format and certificate exactly as displayed, and re-check them every month. The "updated" date at the top changes only after a real re-check. If you run one of these courses and see something out of date, email hello@aiaccountingengineer.com and we will check it against your page.